The boniato tacos at Agua Verde in Seattle are amazing. Topped with cojita and a green creamy salsa, they are divine.

I picked up an enormous yam on my way home from work for $2.21. Talk about budget shopping! That is a screaming deal for a taco filler. I already had corn tortillas that were desperately waiting to be used, onions,

cilantro, cabbage and an awesome avocado.

Picture 16

Trying to recreate the deliciousness that boniato… I first sauteed generous pieces of sweet onion in butter. While the onions were cooking, I peeled and diced the monstrous yam and added it to the pan. There are very few things I make without using cumin, and I added a generous teaspoon to the yams and onions, and about a half a teaspoon of cayenne. Wishing for a little more texture on the cubes of delicious yams, after they had softened a bit (about 10 minutes) I moved them onto a baking sheet and roasted them at 500 F for another 10 minutes to caramelize them a bit.

Too assemble: warm corn tortillas in skillet, layer shredded cabbage, roasted yams, a generous slice of avocado, chopped cilantro and salsa if you have it.

The result? Totally tasty. Now if only I can figure out what their creamy green salsa is made from…

