IMG_2541Portland is so great. 

I’ve just returned from a long weekend with my siblings at our beach cabin on the Oregon coast. They are not trying to save their vacation hours to fly around the country for post-phone interviews, and thus, are still hanging out at the cabin. Those lucky bitches. My mister wasn’t able to come with me because of work, and I didn’t want to make the 7 hour trek home alone, so I brought my friend E, who had a great time and meshed well with my family members. The beach was divine and we had just as much fun coming home to Seattle, when we took a four hour detour in Portland for some great food with friends, and tax free shopping! (Mostly for her – but a liiiiiiiiittle for me)

Awhile back I read a review of Portland street food  in one of my mothers issues of Sunset magazine. The chickpea sandwich from Garden State piqued my interest, and I remembered just as we were approaching the city with grumbling tummies. Lucky for us, E is armed with an iphone, and we were able to look up the article to remember the name, the address, and then navigate our way! We arrived at 3:45 to find the shop owner in front of the cart tidying up. 

Owner: I’m sorry… we closed at 3:30.

Me: Oh, no. Really?

Owner: Yes.

E: …but we came all the way from Seeeeeeattle!

Owner: Really? Well, what would you like? 

How awesome is that? Everyone should go to the Garden State truck in Portland and order the chickpea sandwich. It is amazing with a chickpea patty, delicata squash, carrot slaw, lemon aioli and lettuce on a delicious roll. All this deliciousness for six freaking dollars. Amazing.

