I haven’t made the cinnamon pull apart bread yet. Somehow, I managed to not be distracted by my kitchen this weekend (I had delicious chilaquiles here instead!). Here I am on a rainy Tuesday, trying to formulate a research question while making butterscotch brownies. This recipe came from my mother, who has been inspiring me with her gardening and kitchen skills for three decades already. Enjoy!

Butterscotch Brownies 

*This recipe is intended for an 8 x 8 pan. I  a) don’t have one and b) am greedy with these brownies so I’ve doubled it for double the deliciousness. Its up to you….

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Measure and set aside:
1 1/2 cup flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
In a saucepan:
Melt 1/4 cup butter

Mmmm melting butter.

While your butter is melting, whisk 1 egg and 1 tsp of vanilla in a separate bowl.

Egg + Vanilla

Stir 1 cup of brown sugar into melted butter until dissolved. Allow to cool slightly, then mix into egg + vanilla mixture. Combine thoroughly with dry ingredients.

Press walnuts into brownie mixture…

Bake for 15-20 minutes or until done through. Be careful not to burn or overcook them – you want these butterscotch brownies to be chewy.